Get Your Kicks on Route 66 (or not)

route664.jpg

I’m going to be honest with you all. We went to Route 66 while we were staying in Williams, Arizona and we didn’t get any kicks. All of my life people have told me I can get my kicks there. I don’t even know what kicks are. The kids these days call shoes kicks but I don’t think that is what everyone is talking about when they talk about kicks. I asked some of the store owners what if they knew where I could get kicks and they just looked at me with a blank stare.

Instead of kicks, I got a picture with Elvis (I don’t think he was real).

route661.jpg

We showed the kids an old fashioned soda machine.

rout663.jpg

We walked up and down the main street. It was quaint and fun to think of what it must have been like when Route 66 was a main thoroughfare.For a small town there wer a lot of stores and restaurants.

route662.jpg

It was fun to see a part of American history. I have a feeling we are going to see more of Route 66 as we plan to travel the 40 across Arizona and New Mexico in the near future. Maybe I will get another chance to get my kicks.

~Michael~

Leave a Reply

