Enjoy the Journey

Lunar Eclipse01This is another article in a series of letters that I am writing to my children about some of the things I hope they can learn from me.

Dear Reece, Maya, Mason, and Madelyn,

We are leaving Las Vegas today and we don’t know where we are going. Yes, you read that right, your parents have no idea where we are going. If you would have told me before our trip that I wouldn’t know where I would sleep that night, I would have curled up in the fetal position and recited nursery rhymes until my throat was raw……. with clown paint on my face…… in a pair of onesie pajamas. Please don’t  ask me why I own onesies.

Grandpa always told me that “if you fail to plan, you plan to fail.” I think that this is true in a lot of cases but sometimes planning is overrated. Think about your last 6 months. What were the best things that happened to you. Seriously, stop reading this and answer the question before you move on.

How many of the experiences did you plan? I bet you planned some of them, but I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of the best things weren’t planned. Here are some of the things we didn’t plan that have been amazingly awesome.

practicing

  • Tennis matches
  • Living in our friends mother-in-law apartment for 2 months
  • Picking wild blackberries
  • Accidentally ending up at Lake Tahoe (Don’t make me explain)
  • Helping someone sod their yard
  • Ending up in the same campground or city as dear friends multiple times
  • Acro Yoga
  • A game of UNO without any fights
  • Last minute tickets for a life changing marriage class
  • Amazing council and wisdom from friends and family
  • Playing catch
  • Free tickets to Star Wars
  • Last minute hike
  • Sunsets
  • Farmers markets

farmers market

So why am I writing this? Because I forget stuff and you probably will too. I forget that sometimes life isn’t about the destination, it’s about the journey. There are a lot of times when I need to plan to reach my goals but sometimes I focus too much on the goals. Let me give you an example.

One of the reasons we started traveling was so I could spend quality time with all of you. About one month ago I set a goal of writing a blog post every day so I could journal our experiences. Today I had not written a post, I hadn’t prepared for our departure, I hadn’t eaten lunch or breakfast, and Mason wanted to play catch. I told him I had too much work to do. I thought to myself that I didn’t have catch in my to do list so I didn’t have time.

Then I realized that I needed to stop and spend time with him. What could be more important than spending time with all of you? I have a lot of things to do every day and I want to work and grow and have goals. I also need to stop and experience the journey.  I hope that you guys can remember this as well. Enjoy the journey. Sometimes it’s OK to take your eye off of the end goal so you can see and experience the beauty that is around you.

Love,

Dad

red rock.jpg

 

One thought on “Enjoy the Journey

Leave a Reply

