An Open Letter to Old Faithful

Dear Old Faithful,

I just wanted to write you a letter to let you know that I have found another fountain. I know we grew up together but it seems that over time we have started drifting apart. This letter might be painful for you to read but I feel like it would be irresponsible for me to lie to you.

I wasn’t looking for another fountain. I was just in Las Vegas minding my own business when someone introduced me to the Bellagio Fountains. They said they would be there every 30 minutes and that they dance to music. I was skeptical because of my experience with you but I was in the area so I stopped to see if they were as reliable as I was told they would be.

lv belagio fountains

Sure enough, at 2:30 PM on the dot the fountains started up. They didn’t give me a time window like you always did. They respected me enough to show up when they said they would. I didn’t have to wait around wondering if they would shoot off. It was so liberating to be respected in this way.

There was also music. The fountains danced for me. They Danced! You have never danced for me. Maybe you were too shy or self conscious, but without even knowing me well the Bellagio Fountains danced to music. Tears filled my eyes as I thought of their willingness to be so vulnerable.

The fountains weren’t scalding to the touch either. So many times I have l reached out to touch you only to be burned by scalding hot water and to have my nostrils filled with the stench of rotten eggs.

In addition, the Bellagio Fountains are just across the street from the Eiffel Tower.

LV Eiffel

They are also down the road from New York…….

lv new york

and the Statue of Liberty……..

LV Statue of Libery

and a jelly bean Statue of Liberty……..

LV Jelly Bean

and these cool buildings.

LV building

The funny thing is, I like your neighborhood better than the Bellagio’s but we’ve grown too far apart. I don’t want to hear any promises that you will start showing up on time or that you will stop smelling like sulfur. I think we both know that you are too old to change. We can still be friends and I will still visit every once in a while, but it’s over. I hope you understand and I wish you the best,

Michael

Leave a Reply

